January 20, 2019

Safety Champion Award

Recognizing Individual Safety Efforts

It is the duty of every individual on a job site to focus on safety.  Safety, like other disciplines, has individuals who stand out for their positive efforts in exceptional performance and for leading others in their commitment to excellence on the job.  This award is for individuals who are not safety professionals, but demonstrate a commitment to the goal of high performing safety and whose efforts have had a substantial impact on the overall safety of a job site.

Nominees must be an employee of a Master Builders of Iowa associate or general contractor member, who have been employed with the member company for at least one year, and who are currently working in the Iowa construction industry.  A nominee may not have received an individual safety award from MBI in the past three years.  Third-party safety consultants whose clients are MBI members are not eligible for either of these awards.  The panel of judges is made up of a variety of safety professionals from the industry, as well as representatives from Iowa OSHA. 

Safety Champion Award Recipients

Duane Hanley
Henkel Construction Co.
Mason City, IA

Jim Davis
The Waldinger Corporation
Des Moines, IA

Pat O'Neal

Des Moines, IA


For more information, contact: